You can change and configure the detail creation form of any module, i.e. which fields should be displayed in the detail creation form.
Detail Creation Form
- Navigate to the Profile Icon in the top right corner
- Click on Setup.
- Head over to Modules
- Select the Custom Module
- Click on Customize the Create Form under Layouts.
- You will be directed to a screen that is divided into two sections, the left one displays Unused Fields, and the right section will display the current fields that are present in the form.
- You can add a new section by clicking on the button “Add new section” displayed at the top right corner of the screen.
- A popup would appear, where you need to provide the following details:
- Section Name
- Column Layout
- Click on Save
- You can quickly change the column layout of the section by enabling the toggle button displayed on it that says “Two columns”.
- There are other actions that can also be performed on the section by clicking on the three dots displayed in the section:
- Set Visibility Rule: You can define the conditions for when this section should be visible.
- Edit Section: Choose this option to rename the section or change column structure i.e. one column or two columns.
- Delete Section: Choose this option to delete the section, and its field will be moved to the unused fields.
- If the visibility rule is set on the section, then a tag would appear on the section that says “Conditional Visibility”.
- You cannot delete a section if it contains any locked or required fields.
- You cannot delete a section if it contains any fields that have been used as a condition for visibility or required rules of other fields or contain any of the primary fields.
- You can add a field to the form by choosing it from the Unused fields, which contain all the fields that you have added in the module. You can simply drag and drop a field from the left side section to the center to add it.
- Or you can add a new field by clicking on the button “Add custom field” displayed at the top right corner of the screen.
- You can customize the creation form layout by selecting the fields to be displayed and arranging them in a desired order. Also by arranging the sections that contain fields.
- After you have added a field, you can perform any of the below actions on the fields by clicking on the three dots:
- Move to Unused Fields: Choose this option when you don’t want to display this field in the creation form.
- Set Permission: Choose this option to configure permissions for who should have access to this field.
- Set Visibility Rule: Choose this option to configure permission for when should this field be visible.
- Set Required Rule: Choose this option to configure permission for when should this field be required.
- If you want to see the preview of the creation form then you can click on the button “Preview Form” displayed at the top right corner. It will open a quick view to display the preview of the form.
- The fields that are custom fields, will have the tag “Custom Field” on them.
- The fields that are marked as required will have a tag “Always Required” and if they are marked as required when some condition matches then a tag “Conditional Required” will be displayed on it.
- You cannot move a required or locked field to the section of Unused fields.
- The fields that are system fields will have a locked icon on them and they can’t be removed so the cross icon will be disabled. You can rearrange their order though.
- When you try to move a field to the unused section that has been used in the condition for another field’s visibility or required rule then you will get the error alert “You can't disable this field as other field's visibility or necessity is dependent on this field.”
- Similarly, if you try to delete the field then you will get an error “You can't remove this field as other field's visibility or necessity is dependent on this field.”